So, the 2010/11 has now finished.

So,  the 2010/11 has now finished.  In the Championship,  it is QPR and Norwich  City that enter the promised land of the Premiership, along with Swansea City, who beat Reading in the play-off final at Wembley.

At the bottom, Preston North End, Sheffield United and Scunthorpe United were relegated to League 1.

In League 1, the two south coast teams of Brighton and Southampton were promoted to the Championship,  together with Peterborough United, who beat my own team, Huddersfield Town in the Play-off Final at Old Trafford.  At the bottom,  Dagenham & Redbridge, Bristol Rovers, Plymouth Argyle and Swindon Town were all relegated to League 2.

Plymouth Argyle were only relegated because of this ten point deduction rule for going into administration.  Had this not happened, they would have survived at the expense of Walsall.

Plymouth Argyle’s future is still not secure following administration,  and there was a discussion between the Pilgrims Supporters Trust,  Lead Administrator Brendan Guilfoyle, and acting chairman Peter Ridsdale earlier in the week.  They are still looking at various consortiums that could take control.  However, a deal to sell off Plymouth Argyle’s ground and stadium and save the club from folding could go through by the end of this week, acting chairman Peter Ridsdale said on Tuesday (28th).Bishop International Limited, an offshore company, is the preferred bidder for the ground at Home Park in a reported £5 million deal.

In League 2,  it’s congratulations to Chesterfield, Bury and Wycombe Wanderers on gaining promotion to League 1,  together with Stevenage, who, after just scraping into the play-off positions on the final day of the season-proper,  beat Torquay United in their play-off final, again at Old Trafford. 

At the bottom of League 2, the Football League bid farewell to Stockport County and Lincoln City. Stockport County having been a league club since 1905, and Lincoln City, since 1922 – with the exception of the 1987/88 season, when they were in the Conference, after they became the first team to suffer automatic relegation from the Football League. The immediately won promotion straight back,  and will be hoping to do the same this time.

Taking their places in the Football League are Crawley Town,  and AFC   Wimbledon.  What a rise it has been for the Dons, who were only formed in 2002.  This was as a result of the original Wimbledon FC’s relocation to Milton Keynes and “rebranding” as MK Dons.Wimbledon supporters opposed to this move reacted by founding their own side, AFC Wimbledon.  At the start, it entered the Premier Division of the Combined Counties League.  Since then, they’ve been promoted five times in eight seasons, culminating in their promotion to the Football League.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: